Reviews

What people are saying about Clan Walker




A nice place to stay in Edinburgh - Rating 4/5

Comfortable and clean room, amazing breakfast, easy access to the city centre by bus or a 15-minute walk, and nice housekeepers, all these make Clan Walker a really good option to stay in Edinburgh. I will recommend it to friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Francisco Sempere | Sun 19th Aug 2012


Excellent - Rating 4/5

Excellent stay, breakfast very goog. service also excellent

Reviewer:Mel Nathan | Thu 9th Aug 2012


Our stay. - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Clan Walker Guest House, it was well situated and close to the city centre, the room had everything we needed and a lovely four poster bed, everything was lovely and clean and the food was faultless, would definitely like to stay there again in the future.

Reviewer:Tracey Allan | Mon 6th Aug 2012


It was very good! - Rating 5/5

Our stay was very comfortable. The room was great and the breakfast very good. Thank you for all!

Reviewer:Mrs. Monica Helbling | Sun 5th Aug 2012


Perfect Edinburgh stay - Rating 5/5

The location is excellent, the beds are really comfortable, the rooms are nice (and very clean) and the hosts are really friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Trent Simonovic | Mon 16th Jul 2012


- Rating 5/5

Reviewer:Miss. Alison Bennett | Tue 10th Jul 2012


Lovely Accommodations - Rating 5/5

Immaculate, elegant old home. Great location. Friendly host was new to the B& B business, but I'm sure things will run smoothly in time. Very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Richard Shute | Tue 10th Jul 2012


Warm welcome - Rating 5/5

I have always stayed at the Clan Walker since my children were lucky enough to go to Edinburgh Univ.Warm welcome from Lorna and Doug, well appointed rooms ( I have tried them all now) and excellent food.Only another 3 years to go! Susan

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Botfield | Tue 26th Jun 2012


?? - Rating 3/5

Good environment, very nice room and exceptional hospitality. Location close to city centre and amenities.

Reviewer:Yomi Imasogie | Tue 26th Jun 2012


Excellent stay! - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Clan Walker for a week and could not wish for any better accommodation! The house has bus stops just in front of it and if you wish not to use public transport, it is within walking distance (15-20 min, maybe less?) to the Royal Mile and Waverley, also to Arthur´s Seat. The room (MacKenzie small double) has beautiful view of Arthur´s Seat. Room is very nice, with flat screen TV, the bed very, very comfy :-), together with bathroom are very clean. The great full breakfast always gave me energy for whole day of exploring beauties of Edinburgh and Scotland!And also, both hosts are really friendly and welcoming!All in whole, I would definitely recommend this guest house to everyone and if I happend to come to Edinburgh again, I would search for no other accommodation, for Clan Walker would be the only one I would think of!

Reviewer:Ms. Hana Sturmova | Mon 18th Jun 2012


Charming B&B - Rating 5/5

This B& B was lovely to stay at, the rooms are nicely furnished.The hosts are very friendly and helpful and you could not fault the breakfast.This B& B is a short bus ride into the city centre but the bus stops are right outside your door. I would stay here again

Reviewer:Ms. Michelle Garbutt | Tue 12th Jun 2012


May 2012 - Rating 5/5

I am happy that I chose your guest house as our base in Edinburgh. The accommodation was perfect - nice, clean room and the hosts were very helpful - prepared a take-a-way breakfast for us, answered all are questions... If I would come to Edinburgh again, this would be my first choice !!!

Reviewer:Ms. Zinka Bikic | Fri 1st Jun 2012


Aye! - Rating 5/5

A pleasure, as always!

Reviewer:Miss. Christine Dexter | Sat 28th Apr 2012


great place to stay - Rating 5/5

very nice room great breakfast

Reviewer:Mr. Martin Buxton | Sat 21st Apr 2012


clan walker short stay - Rating 4/5

Home away from homeHad a lovely warm welcome and a lovely stayExcellent breakfastGood working wi-fi

Reviewer:Miss. Daniela Bondin | Thu 29th Mar 2012


Clan Walker experience - Rating 5/5

Excellent experience , accommodationvery nice and in a good location, staff very pleasant and helpful. we had a great weekend and would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Barry Simpson | Mon 12th Mar 2012


Clan Walker - Rating 5/5

Nice and comfy with great attention to detail. Delicious breakfast. Very handy for town and good to have parking.

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline Deacon | Thu 1st Mar 2012


great stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for an efficiently run place to stay,quality breakfast,pleasant room

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen Grace Richardson | Mon 20th Feb 2012


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

NIce place to stay, friendly people, fine food

Reviewer:Mr. Jan Hannon | Thu 9th Feb 2012


Lovely visit - Rating 5/5

Excellent guest house.A beautifully and sympathetically restored house.Friendly and great service.Incredible value for money.

Reviewer:Miss. Christine Dexter | Sun 15th Jan 2012


Hogmanay! - Rating 5/5

With delicious breakfasts, a great view and proximity to the town center this was more than excellent! John and Lucy were a delight and their attention to detail was exceptional - they even refrigerated our champagne and gave us a packed breakfast for the train ride back to London! Thank you for a lovely stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Joshua Killeen | Tue 3rd Jan 2012


Christmas Break in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

We recently spent 3 nights at the Clan Walker Guest House where both the accomodation, food and hospitality was very good. Situated on a regular bus route the location was ideal for shopping and exploring Edinburgh and the Christmas Market.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony Willis | Tue 6th Dec 2011


Beneath Arthur's Seat - Rating 5/5

I arrived from the U.S. for a visit with my son, who has just started at the University -- which, by the way, he loves. Clan Walker's peaceful atmosphere, the friendliness of John and Lucy, the pristine condition of my room, and all the amenities provided, made it easy for me to settle in and feel very comfortable in the stunning and beautiful city of Edinburgh. The breakfast warms you all day --even if you head up to Arthur's Seat in gale force winds on a misty Saturday afternoon when the rocks are slippery. Clan Walker's hearty Scottish breakfast will buck you up and keep you from being blown away. When I return (and I certainly will), I'll consider no other place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Terence Culleton | Tue 29th Nov 2011


review - Rating 5/5

Love this guest house stayed here last year and would come back again. Everything you need very comfortable.Bus stop outside easyto get to the town centre thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie Roberts | Mon 28th Nov 2011


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

As I wrote in the visitors book, everything about our stay was lovely and we would definitely recommend to others and definitely come back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Brigid Murphy | Sat 26th Nov 2011


weekend away - Rating 5/5

clan walker was the best that we stop in, we really had a good time stopping there for the weekend, a great,happy warm welcome from the start, will definately will go back they again for a longer stay and we like to thank you for having us

Reviewer:Mr. John Paul Brown | Mon 31st Oct 2011


Very comfortable - Rating 4/5

My husband and I stayed here for one night, and had a lovely room with sofa which was just like being at home.Breakfast beautifully done.Good location, near Holyrood Park, and not far from town.

Reviewer:Mrs. Brigid Murphy | Tue 11th Oct 2011


The right choise! - Rating 5/5

We could not have chosen a better B & B place to stay!Our hosts certainly made all the difference to a wonderful seven-day holiday. It would certainly be a pleasure to both recommend and to stay again at the Clan Walker”Antoinette & Lino Vella-Brincat,Malta.

Reviewer:Mr. Carmel Paul Vella Bricat | Tue 11th Oct 2011


totally good - Rating 5/5

I had really enjoyed my stay there...Calm, well arranged, and completely clean.Thanks a lot Mrs and Mr Walker for your hospitality...

Reviewer:Dr. Mhd Kheder Alhamwi | Sun 9th Oct 2011


recomended! - Rating 4/5

nice and clean room, nice viewwi-fi to use for free! about 7min with bus to town, lot of buses. nice restaurant salisbury inn just 4min to walkvery friendly and helpful owner!

Reviewer:Mrs. Nathalie Eicher | Sun 21st Aug 2011


Kiwi travellers - Rating 5/5

A fantastically located B+B that was very comfortable with all amenities, great breatfasts and wonderfully welcoming and helpful hosts. Highly recommend Clan Walker

Reviewer:Ms. Karen Lenne | Sun 14th Aug 2011


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Clan Walker for 3 nights, Room very good, Breakfast of a good standard & plentiful, hosts very friendly

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Surridge | Fri 12th Aug 2011


at the university - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay in Edinburgh at Clan Walker, me on business,my wife with me.Thank you so much.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Duff | Tue 28th Jun 2011


Our stay - Rating 5/5

The Clan Walker is a very hospitable guest house, very clean, nicely decorated, & the breakfasts are lovely, catering for all tastes. We really enjoyed our stay there, the four poster room which we stayed in was lovely, great for a romantic setting. Bed was pristinley clean, & more importantly very comfy. Cannot fault anything about our stay there. We would highly recommend this guest house to family & friends. Cant wait to go back again, it made our visit to Edinburgh a very pleasurable one. Nicely located, not too far from the royal mile etc, and the buses ran frequently from outside the guest house. Big thanks to Joyce, the owners mother who made us feel at home. Loved every minute. Hope to go back there soon.

Reviewer:Ms Julie Manson | Tue 14th Jun 2011


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Brilliant location 5 mins from centre. Bedroom (Clan Stewart) was exceptionally clean and really felt like a home away from home.Will definantly return xx

Reviewer:Dr. April Nilsen-Nunn | Wed 8th Jun 2011


Cosy and nice - Rating 4/5

Very friendly host in a very clean, comfortable accomodation. Easy to get into the centre. Good options for breakfast.

Reviewer:Meiler | Tue 31st May 2011


terrific place - Rating 5/5

I would definitely recommend this B& B to anyone looking for one in Edinburgh.You do have to be willing to walk a ways (but there is a gorgeous walk through Holyrood park) or take a bus to get to the historic area, but if that isn't a problem, this place is beautifully furnished and the breakfasts are excellent.I only wished there had been a common room, but we were out seeing things so much that it didn't matter.

Reviewer:Diane Follingstad | Tue 31st May 2011


room with a view - Rating 4/5

I was only there on a business trip but it was lovely to have somewhere peaceful and pleasant to return to in the evening. Staff all very friendly ready with good advice from the nearest post office to the best route for a morning jog!

Reviewer:Dr Elizabeth Woledge| Mon 30th May 2011


Nice place and nice people - Rating 5/5

very accessible to bus, walking distance to downtown. lovely room, clean and very accommodating family!amazing breakfast served!

Reviewer:Mr. Francis Mårtensson | Mon 30th May 2011


Wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed everything about our stay at Clan Walker so much that we are already planning our next trip back. The rooms are spacious and tastefully designed with fabulous views of Arthur's Seat. Was very impressed how every last detail seemed to be thought of, from the chocolates waiting for us in the room to small eco-conscious details. Breakfasts are amazing. The hospitality was sincere and welcoming. We also loved the fact that the area is so quiet and peaceful yet so easy to get to the city center (the buses come very frequently and is only a few minutes ride). It's also so close to Arthur's Seat that is wonderful for a stroll or run in the mornings.

Reviewer:Ms. Ena Sroat | Fri 27th May 2011


Wonderful! - Rating 4/5

Our hosts were very hospitable and gracious.We were within walking distance of the Royal Mile, so it was very convenient.Our room was lovely and breakfast was delicious!Thank you for everything.We will definitely be back!

Reviewer:Dana L Mccranie | Mon 23rd May 2011


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

We had a very warm welcome when we arrived with plenty of advice on where to go and what to see. We stayed in the Mackenzie room. Although quite small it is a beautifully decorated and homely room with all the mod con's you could need. The view up the hill is beautiful in the morning and although on a busy street the road noise isn't too bad. The room and ensuite were spotless and well maintained. Lots of tea, coffee and toiletries... plus biscuits! Breakfast has plenty of choice and everything we tried was lovely. The only slight negative is the time restriction of only an hours slot for breakfast but I suppose it ensures you are up on time! We had a wonderful stay and would definatly stay there again if we return to Edinburgh. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

Reviewer:Miss. Emma Haynes | Mon 9th May 2011


Cycle Stop - Rating 5/5

Having stayed in 12 guest houses over 12 consecative nights as part of a trip this was one of the best I stayed in. Great rooms, friendly hosts and a good breakfast in a location only 15mins walk from the centre what more can you ask for.

Reviewer:Carl Foulkes | Thu 5th May 2011


Recent Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent service again. Really helpful.

Reviewer:Miss. JENNIFER TAYLOR | Thu 5th May 2011


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Bridal Suite
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • City Breaks
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays