What people are saying about Clan Walker

Friendly & attentive hosts - Rating 5/5

Very supportive and accommodating right through from booking to departure.Laura was very helpful directing us to bus stop to get us the 15 minutes into town.Lovely well cooked breakfast.Would stay again

Reviewer:Martin Jenkins | Sat 28th Oct 2017

Cozy Place I’m the heart of Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

I have to say, Clan Walker Guest House was a cost surprise right in the middle of Edinburgh. The best part, a bus stop is right opposite to it! The hosts are most hospitable. I would recommend staying here if you’re in Edinburgh for a visit.

Reviewer:Ibrahim Khan | Tue 17th Oct 2017

Fantastic - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay on saturday night. Very friendly staff, nice room (room 5) with a view of arthurs seat, clean .Great breakfast! Would very much recommend.

Reviewer:Richard Hijlkema | Wed 4th Oct 2017

Like home - Rating 5/5

We have never met such lovely owners who care so much of their guests (such sweet details as tea and cookies every day in the room).Extraordinarly rich breakfest in a very stylish british dinning room.Wonderful streetview.Very close to the city centre, bus station direct in front of the house (2,14,30,33 to Princes Street).Clean bathroom.Very comfy beds.Thank you, Clan Walker, we loved it and we will be back!

Reviewer:Ina Pisova | Wed 4th Oct 2017

Perfect!!!- Rating 5/5

Small, but nice and really CLEAN room! Nice breakfast!

Reviewer:Elisa Mahlmann | Mon 11th Sep 2017

Close to the center of Edinburgh, friendly, very good breakfast - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed the stay at this friendly and nice guest house. As German we enjoyed the yummy introduction to the variable british breakfast.Close to the city center we had a good start towards the festival every day. First we thought, the children´s room would be en suite to ours. As the girls are already teens, that was no disadvantage. They could manage with it.Thank you for your hospitality.Ursula with family

Reviewer:John Cabot | Wed 30th Aug 2017

Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

Only stayed for one night but would happily have spent a week there. Even during Festival rates were very reasonable. The room and facilities were spotless and inclusive breakfast was generous. Could not fault the place and will recommend to family and friends

Reviewer:Francis McLennan | Sat 26th Aug 2017

welcoming, comfortable - Rating 5/5

Our small double room was not too small, very clean with a fabulous view of Arthur's Seat. Location is ideal if using public transport to get around Edinburgh. Good breakfast choices.

Reviewer:Janet Warner | Sat 26th Aug 2017

Fine B&B - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed the owners very much. Fine breakfast and convenient bus access to downtown.Definitely a fine value.

Reviewer:Christopher Gordon | Tue 22nd Aug 2017

Excellent bed and breakfast accommodation - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation. Very good Scottish breakfast with a lot of variety, including a sample of haggis and black pudding as options!! Had a great view of Arthur's Seat from our window. Bus to the center of Edinburgh and castle, and Royal Mile, very close to the guest house. Excellent hosts too. Thanks for a great stay!!

Reviewer:Arnavaz Eduljee | Mon 7th Aug 2017

Review by Annick and Camille, from France - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay at Clan Walker Guest-House. The house is beautiful, furnished and decorated with taste. It is so cozy and clean (not a speck of dust)! Lorna and Doug, the hosts, are highly-organised, very considerate and always ready to help. Breakfast is a treat for all. It is varied and tastes so good (eggs the way you like them, bacon, smoked salmon with muffins and scrambled eggs, etc... It is also great for vegetarians, with fresh vegetables and fruit straight from the market (the mushrooms, the melon... Everything is delicious). Clan Walker Guest-House is more than a place to stay:it is a HOME. In short:an outstandingplace. Annick and Camille from France (age:64 and 17)

Reviewer:Annick Mignot | Sat 5th Aug 2017

The perfect place to stay - Rating 5/5

This is the perfect place to stay, when you are in Edinburgh! Warm and great hosts, that are very flexible! We could park earlier and even take our breakfast with us since we had to catch an early flight. As I said:Just the perfect place to stay. Thank you!

Reviewer:Silvia van Rijs | Mon 31st Jul 2017

great stay in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

Very nice house, great and helpful people, good location near the park, next to a convenient bus stop.

Reviewer:Alexander Teplyaev | Wed 19th Jul 2017

Weekend break to see Robbie - Rating 5/5

We spent 2 nights in June and the location was perfect. 20 mins walk and you're on the Royal mile.Our room was realy comfortable and the views towards Arthur's seat were superb. The hosts were really helpful and friendly and provided a delicious breakfast of our choice. Free parking to the front which is a great option for those not taking the train. Highly recommended for those looking for a cosy stay close to the centre but without the price of city centre hotels. Will definitley visit agan

Reviewer:Ms. Audrey Hutchinson | Sun 25th Jun 2017

3day stay with Clan Wallace - Rating 5/5

Friendly comfortable and convenient for transport .would certainly come again. Would recommend I tJo baxendale.

Reviewer:jocelyn Baxendale | Sun 25th Jun 2017

Stay from 27th may - 1st June 2017 - Rating 5/5

Hi,What a fab stay at the Clan Walker on May 27th till 1st June 2017. As always Lorna &Doug were fabulous hosts, nothing is too much trouble &they are very helpful with any equests you may have. Special thanks to Lorna for listening to me &making me have breakfast before I went to see my Husband Alan finish the half maraton in Musselburgh, Lorna helped me so much in finding the right bus to get there &helping to keep me calm in a nervous situation.I would not stay anywhere else in Edinburgh &will definately be going back for the third time. The location of the Clan Walker is perfect, it is an easy 20 minutes or so walk into the town if you dont want to take a very regular bus service into the town. Thanks for everything Lorna &Doug, we hope to see you again soon.Lesley &Alan Roome.x

Reviewer:Mr. AlanRoome | Thu 22nd Jun 2017

Lovely guest house - Rating 5/5

Thanks for the kind welcome, comfortable room and great breakfast on my short stay.

Reviewer:Anne Marie Salgo | Mon 29th May 2017

Enjoyed my stay - Rating 5/5

I had a very nice stay at Clan Walker.The room was clean and comfortable with everything I needed. The breakfast room was pleasant and breakfast good (I didn't have a cooked breakfast).Host and hostess very hospitable. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Ms. Amanda Cardy | Fri 5th May 2017

Lovely stay - will be back! - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Clan Walker Guest House. Our room was lovely with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was great with lots of choice. Doug made us feel very welcome and couldn't have been more helpful. There's a bus stop just outside so very convenient - a bus will get you into the city centre in 10 minutes, although it's not too far to walk. All in all a great stay and we'll definitely be back.

Reviewer:Tracy Willumsen | Tue 25th Apr 2017

A perfect place for a mini break - Rating 5/5

The room was small but very confortable and cosy !The localisation is ideal :20 minutes walk to the city center and the bus station is just in front of the guest house ! It's great place for a weekend !

Reviewer:Cyrielle Rausch | Mon 27th Mar 2017

Birthday weekend treat to Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

Thank you, Lorna and Douglas. My husband and I had a wonderful stay in your beautiful home and very much enjoyed visiting Edinburgh. Your professionalism and attentiveness was very much appreciated and we felt very comfortable in your home. We both hope to visit you and your city again. Thank you. Christine and Stephen xx

Reviewer:Christine Gilbert | Thu 23rd Mar 2017

Warm and welcoming - a perfect place to stay - Rating 5/5

We had a really wonderful time at Clan Walker. My boyfriend and I needed somewhere to stay over Hogmanay and found the place almost by accident - we booked very last minute and had few options. However, we're extremely glad we did. We were in the Mckenzie room - the smallest room in the house - and were warned repeatedly on the website that it would be pretty tiny and cosy, but actually we found it a very comfortable size, with a large bed, a desk, a clean, modern bathroom and a huge window seat with incredible views of Arthur's seat. I've been to Edinburgh many times before and was very happy with the location of this place - it's a short walk to Nicolson Street, where there are a lot of shops, small cafes and good food places. The house is right near a few bus stops, too, so getting around really shouldn't be a problem (although we quite like walking around Edinburgh most of the time).Breakfast was beautifully cooked and very generous - we took full advantage of the cooked breakfasts during our stay!Overall, I couldn't recommend this place more. We felt very well looked after and would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Miss Sophia Warren | Tue 3rd Jan 2017

New Year\'s Eve break - Rating 5/5

Excellent quality and value for money. Would definitely return.

Reviewer:Mr Jack | Tue 3rd Jan 2017

Brillant Weekend Stay - Rating 5/5

The greeting was very warm and friendly and then you were left alone to do your own thing it was like being home from home. The facilities in the room tea coffee hot chocolate etc, bathroom very modern and all in all very clean. Breakfast also very good would definitely return and also recommend.

Reviewer:Miss Catherine Amelia Pollock | Tue 29th Nov 2016

Birthday Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Our hosts made us very welcome on arrival and showed us to our room, had a brief informative chat and asked if we had any questions. As we had arrived after 7pm we enquired as to somewhere local to eat for the evening. We were recommended the Salisbury Arms which was just up the road and went there where we a lovely meal (Thanks for the Recommendation)Our Room was nice,room was warm, bed comfortable and suitable warm duvet for the time of year, Good shower and TV to watch when you are in the room. You can order your breakfast selection the evening before, and didn't have to wait long, very nice it was too (Both mornings) thankyou also to our breakfast host who made us very welcome. Next time we visit Edinburgh we will certainly give this a look up before trying elsewhere.

Reviewer:Mr Alan Beattie | Tue 22nd Nov 2016

Would stay again! - Rating 5/5

The room was clean, comfortable and warm and the ensuite recently updated and clean. The owners were friendly but not intrusive. The breakfast was excellent:jam, marmalade and butter were presented in pots and not mini packs, which is so much nicer. I thought the price very reasonable. It felt homely and welcoming. I was on my own for this weekend but i would definitely try and book one of the family rooms that are available if/when Ireturn with my family. Thank you. I enjoyed my stay.

Reviewer:Mrs Lindsay Barton | Wed 16th Nov 2016

A nice place to stay in Edinburgh - Rating 4/5

Comfortable and clean room, amazing breakfast, easy access to the city centre by bus or a 15-minute walk, and nice housekeepers, all these make Clan Walker a really good option to stay in Edinburgh. I will recommend it to friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Francisco Sempere | Sun 19th Aug 2012

Excellent - Rating 4/5

Excellent stay, breakfast very goog. service also excellent

Reviewer:Mel Nathan | Thu 9th Aug 2012

Our stay. - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Clan Walker Guest House, it was well situated and close to the city centre, the room had everything we needed and a lovely four poster bed, everything was lovely and clean and the food was faultless, would definitely like to stay there again in the future.

Reviewer:Tracey Allan | Mon 6th Aug 2012

It was very good! - Rating 5/5

Our stay was very comfortable. The room was great and the breakfast very good. Thank you for all!

Reviewer:Mrs. Monica Helbling | Sun 5th Aug 2012

Perfect Edinburgh stay - Rating 5/5

The location is excellent, the beds are really comfortable, the rooms are nice (and very clean) and the hosts are really friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Trent Simonovic | Mon 16th Jul 2012

- Rating 5/5

Reviewer:Miss. Alison Bennett | Tue 10th Jul 2012

Lovely Accommodations - Rating 5/5

Immaculate, elegant old home. Great location. Friendly host was new to the B&B business, but I'm sure things will run smoothly in time. Very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Richard Shute | Tue 10th Jul 2012

Warm welcome - Rating 5/5

I have always stayed at the Clan Walker since my children were lucky enough to go to Edinburgh Univ.Warm welcome from Lorna and Doug, well appointed rooms ( I have tried them all now) and excellent food.Only another 3 years to go! Susan

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Botfield | Tue 26th Jun 2012

?? - Rating 3/5

Good environment, very nice room and exceptional hospitality. Location close to city centre and amenities.

Reviewer:Yomi Imasogie | Tue 26th Jun 2012

Excellent stay! - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Clan Walker for a week and could not wish for any better accommodation! The house has bus stops just in front of it and if you wish not to use public transport, it is within walking distance (15-20 min, maybe less?) to the Royal Mile and Waverley, also to Arthur´s Seat. The room (MacKenzie small double) has beautiful view of Arthur´s Seat. Room is very nice, with flat screen TV, the bed very, very comfy :-), together with bathroom are very clean. The great full breakfast always gave me energy for whole day of exploring beauties of Edinburgh and Scotland!And also, both hosts are really friendly and welcoming!All in whole, I would definitely recommend this guest house to everyone and if I happend to come to Edinburgh again, I would search for no other accommodation, for Clan Walker would be the only one I would think of!

Reviewer:Ms. Hana Sturmova | Mon 18th Jun 2012

Charming B&B - Rating 5/5

This B&B was lovely to stay at, the rooms are nicely furnished.The hosts are very friendly and helpful and you could not fault the breakfast.This B&B is a short bus ride into the city centre but the bus stops are right outside your door. I would stay here again

Reviewer:Ms. Michelle Garbutt | Tue 12th Jun 2012

May 2012 - Rating 5/5

I am happy that I chose your guest house as our base in Edinburgh. The accommodation was perfect - nice, clean room and the hosts were very helpful - prepared a take-a-way breakfast for us, answered all are questions... If I would come to Edinburgh again, this would be my first choice !!!

Reviewer:Ms. Zinka Bikic | Fri 1st Jun 2012

Aye! - Rating 5/5

A pleasure, as always!

Reviewer:Miss. Christine Dexter | Sat 28th Apr 2012

great place to stay - Rating 5/5

very nice room great breakfast

Reviewer:Mr. Martin Buxton | Sat 21st Apr 2012

clan walker short stay - Rating 4/5

Home away from homeHad a lovely warm welcome and a lovely stayExcellent breakfastGood working wi-fi

Reviewer:Miss. Daniela Bondin | Thu 29th Mar 2012

Clan Walker experience - Rating 5/5

Excellent experience , accommodationvery nice and in a good location, staff very pleasant and helpful. we had a great weekend and would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Barry Simpson | Mon 12th Mar 2012

Clan Walker - Rating 5/5

Nice and comfy with great attention to detail. Delicious breakfast. Very handy for town and good to have parking.

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline Deacon | Thu 1st Mar 2012

great stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for an efficiently run place to stay,quality breakfast,pleasant room

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen Grace Richardson | Mon 20th Feb 2012

Nice stay - Rating 4/5

NIce place to stay, friendly people, fine food

Reviewer:Mr. Jan Hannon | Thu 9th Feb 2012

Lovely visit - Rating 5/5

Excellent guest house.A beautifully and sympathetically restored house.Friendly and great service.Incredible value for money.

Reviewer:Miss. Christine Dexter | Sun 15th Jan 2012

Hogmanay! - Rating 5/5

With delicious breakfasts, a great view and proximity to the town center this was more than excellent! John and Lucy were a delight and their attention to detail was exceptional - they even refrigerated our champagne and gave us a packed breakfast for the train ride back to London! Thank you for a lovely stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Joshua Killeen | Tue 3rd Jan 2012

Christmas Break in Edinburgh - Rating 5/5

We recently spent 3 nights at the Clan Walker Guest House where both the accomodation, food and hospitality was very good. Situated on a regular bus route the location was ideal for shopping and exploring Edinburgh and the Christmas Market.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony Willis | Tue 6th Dec 2011

Beneath Arthur's Seat - Rating 5/5

I arrived from the U.S. for a visit with my son, who has just started at the University -- which, by the way, he loves. Clan Walker's peaceful atmosphere, the friendliness of John and Lucy, the pristine condition of my room, and all the amenities provided, made it easy for me to settle in and feel very comfortable in the stunning and beautiful city of Edinburgh. The breakfast warms you all day --even if you head up to Arthur's Seat in gale force winds on a misty Saturday afternoon when the rocks are slippery. Clan Walker's hearty Scottish breakfast will buck you up and keep you from being blown away. When I return (and I certainly will), I'll consider no other place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Terence Culleton | Tue 29th Nov 2011

review - Rating 5/5

Love this guest house stayed here last year and would come back again. Everything you need very comfortable.Bus stop outside easyto get to the town centre thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie Roberts | Mon 28th Nov 2011

Wonderful - Rating 5/5

As I wrote in the visitors book, everything about our stay was lovely and we would definitely recommend to others and definitely come back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Brigid Murphy | Sat 26th Nov 2011

weekend away - Rating 5/5

clan walker was the best that we stop in, we really had a good time stopping there for the weekend, a great,happy warm welcome from the start, will definately will go back they again for a longer stay and we like to thank you for having us

Reviewer:Mr. John Paul Brown | Mon 31st Oct 2011

Very comfortable - Rating 4/5

My husband and I stayed here for one night, and had a lovely room with sofa which was just like being at home.Breakfast beautifully done.Good location, near Holyrood Park, and not far from town.

Reviewer:Mrs. Brigid Murphy | Tue 11th Oct 2011

The right choise! - Rating 5/5

We could not have chosen a better B &B place to stay!Our hosts certainly made all the difference to a wonderful seven-day holiday. It would certainly be a pleasure to both recommend and to stay again at the Clan Walker”Antoinette &Lino Vella-Brincat,Malta.

Reviewer:Mr. Carmel Paul Vella Bricat | Tue 11th Oct 2011

totally good - Rating 5/5

I had really enjoyed my stay there...Calm, well arranged, and completely clean.Thanks a lot Mrs and Mr Walker for your hospitality...

Reviewer:Dr. Mhd Kheder Alhamwi | Sun 9th Oct 2011

recomended! - Rating 4/5

nice and clean room, nice viewwi-fi to use for free! about 7min with bus to town, lot of buses. nice restaurant salisbury inn just 4min to walkvery friendly and helpful owner!

Reviewer:Mrs. Nathalie Eicher | Sun 21st Aug 2011

Kiwi travellers - Rating 5/5

A fantastically located B+B that was very comfortable with all amenities, great breatfasts and wonderfully welcoming and helpful hosts. Highly recommend Clan Walker

Reviewer:Ms. Karen Lenne | Sun 14th Aug 2011

Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Clan Walker for 3 nights, Room very good, Breakfast of a good standard &plentiful, hosts very friendly

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Surridge | Fri 12th Aug 2011

at the university - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay in Edinburgh at Clan Walker, me on business,my wife with me.Thank you so much.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Duff | Tue 28th Jun 2011

Our stay - Rating 5/5

The Clan Walker is a very hospitable guest house, very clean, nicely decorated, &the breakfasts are lovely, catering for all tastes. We really enjoyed our stay there, the four poster room which we stayed in was lovely, great for a romantic setting. Bed was pristinley clean, &more importantly very comfy. Cannot fault anything about our stay there. We would highly recommend this guest house to family &friends. Cant wait to go back again, it made our visit to Edinburgh a very pleasurable one. Nicely located, not too far from the royal mile etc, and the buses ran frequently from outside the guest house. Big thanks to Joyce, the owners mother who made us feel at home. Loved every minute. Hope to go back there soon.

Reviewer:Ms Julie Manson | Tue 14th Jun 2011

Excellent - Rating 5/5

Brilliant location 5 mins from centre. Bedroom (Clan Stewart) was exceptionally clean and really felt like a home away from home.Will definantly return xx

Reviewer:Dr. April Nilsen-Nunn | Wed 8th Jun 2011

Cosy and nice - Rating 4/5

Very friendly host in a very clean, comfortable accomodation. Easy to get into the centre. Good options for breakfast.

Reviewer:Meiler | Tue 31st May 2011

terrific place - Rating 5/5

I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for one in Edinburgh.You do have to be willing to walk a ways (but there is a gorgeous walk through Holyrood park) or take a bus to get to the historic area, but if that isn't a problem, this place is beautifully furnished and the breakfasts are excellent.I only wished there had been a common room, but we were out seeing things so much that it didn't matter.

Reviewer:Diane Follingstad | Tue 31st May 2011

room with a view - Rating 4/5

I was only there on a business trip but it was lovely to have somewhere peaceful and pleasant to return to in the evening. Staff all very friendly ready with good advice from the nearest post office to the best route for a morning jog!

Reviewer:Dr Elizabeth Woledge| Mon 30th May 2011

Nice place and nice people - Rating 5/5

very accessible to bus, walking distance to downtown. lovely room, clean and very accommodating family!amazing breakfast served!

Reviewer:Mr. Francis Mårtensson | Mon 30th May 2011

Wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed everything about our stay at Clan Walker so much that we are already planning our next trip back. The rooms are spacious and tastefully designed with fabulous views of Arthur's Seat. Was very impressed how every last detail seemed to be thought of, from the chocolates waiting for us in the room to small eco-conscious details. Breakfasts are amazing. The hospitality was sincere and welcoming. We also loved the fact that the area is so quiet and peaceful yet so easy to get to the city center (the buses come very frequently and is only a few minutes ride). It's also so close to Arthur's Seat that is wonderful for a stroll or run in the mornings.

Reviewer:Ms. Ena Sroat | Fri 27th May 2011

Wonderful! - Rating 4/5

Our hosts were very hospitable and gracious.We were within walking distance of the Royal Mile, so it was very convenient.Our room was lovely and breakfast was delicious!Thank you for everything.We will definitely be back!

Reviewer:Dana L Mccranie | Mon 23rd May 2011

Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

We had a very warm welcome when we arrived with plenty of advice on where to go and what to see. We stayed in the Mackenzie room. Although quite small it is a beautifully decorated and homely room with all the mod con's you could need. The view up the hill is beautiful in the morning and although on a busy street the road noise isn't too bad. The room and ensuite were spotless and well maintained. Lots of tea, coffee and toiletries... plus biscuits! Breakfast has plenty of choice and everything we tried was lovely. The only slight negative is the time restriction of only an hours slot for breakfast but I suppose it ensures you are up on time! We had a wonderful stay and would definatly stay there again if we return to Edinburgh. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

Reviewer:Miss. Emma Haynes | Mon 9th May 2011

Cycle Stop - Rating 5/5

Having stayed in 12 guest houses over 12 consecative nights as part of a trip this was one of the best I stayed in. Great rooms, friendly hosts and a good breakfast in a location only 15mins walk from the centre what more can you ask for.

Reviewer:Carl Foulkes | Thu 5th May 2011

Recent Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent service again. Really helpful.

Reviewer:Miss. JENNIFER TAYLOR | Thu 5th May 2011

Book Online

Our Facilities

  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Bridal Suite
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • City Breaks
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays